Help to get started

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Pat_K, Dec 21, 2001.

1. Pat_K

Pat_K Auditioning

I hope I don't sound stupid but I am just getting into home theater and I did not realize how complicated it was. I would like to list my components and then ask questions about set-up. Any help or opinions will be greatly appreciated.
    Phillips 55" HDTV
    DSS receiver with Dolby optical output
    RCA 5 Disc CD Player with standard audio output and optical
    Sony 550 Watt Receiver
    KLH 6 speaker system with powered sub woofer
    (Future Purchase) Progressive Scan DVD
    Now for the questions:
    If the receiver controls audio, why do I need to run video in and out?
    If I use the digital (optical) audio from the DSS to the receiver and use S-video for the video, do I also need to hook up the audio cables of the S-video?
    Is it worth the purchase price of an additional optical cable to use the optical output from the CD player?
    How should I wire the speakers, through the sub woofer or should I use the receiver's sub woofer out jack with a cable to the sub woofer?
    When I do purchase the DVD, the receiver does not have component video jacks, but the TV does. Should I run the component video to the TV from the DVD and only take DVD audio to the receiver?
    I hope these questions don't seem to basic.
    Thanks[​IMG]

2. James Buhler

James Buhler Stunt Coordinator

Pat,

I hope this helps.

This gives you the option of S-video or component video switching through the receiver. (This limits the number of video cable connections to the TV. eg. you can have two or 3 s-video sources running into your receiver and only need one s-video cable run from the receiver to the TV.) There is a lot of debate surrounding this technique as some receiver's video switching capabilities may actually degrade your signal.