What's new

Help setting up new DVD player please! (1 Viewer)

GregA

Auditioning
I'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to hooking up home theater equipment, so when I got my parents a DVD player for their home theater, I was a bit out of my league when it came to actually installing it. I'm hoping the experts here can help me get this figured out and set up right.

Ok here goes:

I've got a Toshiba SD-3750 DVD player, a ProScan TV, and a Yamaha RX-V690 receiver. I am trying to hook up the DVD using the S-Video connection on the TV, and am using regular RCA audio inputs to the receiver (it does not have coax or toslink digital inputs). Currently I have the 2 RCA's going into the receiver on VCR2 (VCR1 is taken by, well, the VCR). This does let me get sound out of it, but it sounds like all sound is coming out of just the two front speakers (the speaker setup is a 5.1). I haven't figured out how, but somehow the VCR is plugged in so that it will use all the speakers. Also as of now, I have no picture coming into the TV, I've tried looking on Video 1 and on Video 2 inputs, neither of them show a signal. So... if anyone has suggestions, I would be so grateful if you could help me figure this out!

Richard Travale

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Rich Travale
I'll take a shot at this even though I'm not familiar with any of these components. First the audio, I think that since you are using analog RCAs you can at best, have a Pro-logic set-up. If this is the case then you must make sure that the input selected(VCR2 in this case) has Pro-logic selected.If you don't have this enabled you will only get information from the front mains just like you would with the VCR.