Help setting up network

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ari, Dec 7, 2001.

1. Ari

Ari Stunt Coordinator

I'm working in a small-office environment and am looking at setting up a network. I'm a total novice at networking and need some help.

I'm looking at getting 3-4 PCs and a couple of notebooks networked so that they can share an Internet connection (via cable modem) and a printer. Aside from NICs, what other hardware/software would I need? Would I need a networkable printer or will any printer do?? Any recommendations on specific equipment?

We'll also be upgrading the desktops at the same time so I was wondering what processors you guys would recommend. It will only be used for word processing, spreadsheets and email so it doesn't need to be powerful.

2. Greg_Y

Greg_Y Screenwriter

3. JasonD

JasonD Agent

Sounds like you have most of the stuff you'll need. For components, I would suggest purchasing a hub so all 4 computers can see one another on your mini LAN. If you want each machine to share your internet connection (if you are using DSL or Cable) then I would suggest a router.

I believe you can access your printer by having a dedicated PC as a "print server". This means that the printer is noticed on the network by one of the PCs who designates it as such. Just as long as each PC is set to use the network printer as the default, each PC should be able to print from it.

4. Chris Bardon

Chris Bardon Cinematographer