What's new

help setting speakers with avia and spl meter (1 Viewer)

Adam_D

Stunt Coordinator
ok i hope i finally got my spl meter yesterday to configure my speakers with my avia disk and i'm having some problems. i understand how to use the meter and all but how/what do i actually change on the reciever to set the speakers (using a sony str-da4es and energy c-7's, c-c1, and c-r1's)? i looked on the avia and couldn't find anything telling me how to do that (hope i didn't miss it on there:b ). sorry if this is a dumb question but it's my first time doing this. ty.

adam

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
The first thing I would recommend is giving your receiver manual a read through.

Each speaker has it's own adjustment, and can be accessed through the OSD. If you don't have the OSD hooked up, it can be done from the front panel. I don't remember the exact sub-menu, but it will be where the speaker size/distance/x-over settings are. You will need to set the speakers to "small", which will give you the ability to set the x-over point for each speaker.

Adam_D

Stunt Coordinator
ok your saying to increase or decrease just the x-over freq under the set-up menu? and what volume do i start at or where do i start? do i just turn up the volume till i get 75 on the meter from one speaker and tune the rest from that? thanx for the help as soon as i know where i'm starting at and what i'm changing i should be good:)

adam

ChrisWiggles

Senior HTF Member