What's new

Help - Save Me from Bose (1 Viewer)

Chris Messineo

Auditioning
First, as a newbie to the forum, I wanted to say how helpful it has been so far. The information contained in here is amazing.

A little background before my question. While my wife and I love movies (we have over 500 DVD's) I am by no means an audiophile expert. My current setup is a bare bones DVD player (no progressive scan) and TV (with lousy sound).

We tend to watch a movie 4 or 5 nights a week, and I am very interested in getting a 5.1 sound system and a progressive scan DVD player to enhance our experience.

Well, the other day we were at our local mall and we stopped in the Bose Home Theater and Audio store. The sales person was nice (and pushy) and we saw an impressive demonstration of a Lifestyle 35 Home Theater Audio System - then we saw the price $3,000.

I did a quick search online and found many reviews that said the system was way overpriced.

I liked the simplicity of the Bose system, it seemed fairly easy to install, configure, and use. Also it's size (small speakers) and the included dvd player seemed nice. I am wondering if there is something comparable for about $1,500.

We are looking to set this up in our family room. The roomis 9 by 12 and the walls are formica (don't ask - the last homeowner was a formica salesman).

Does anyone have any suggestions? Should I be buying a self contained system or should I be looking for separate components that I put together? Also is $1,500 enough to get a good quality 5.1 system?

Thanks in advance,

Chris Messineo

NicholasL

Second Unit
$1500 is more than enough for a quality HTIB system. It might not be quite enough for seperates, however...assuming you are talking about 5 speakers, a subwoofer, a dvd player, and a receiver.