What's new

Help posting pictures (1 Viewer)

Gene_K

Auditioning
Sorry for the beginner question but how do I post pictures on this forum? I submitted a link but it told me that I need to post at least 15 threads before I can post links. I just wanted to show you all my home theater setup.

Gene_K

Auditioning
To view my photos, I guess you would click on the www button above. I have that linked to my photos in Yahoo!

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
Nicely done, Gene! I can’t figure out, though, what it is on the wall above the front L/R speakers?

How did you mount the rear speakers? One appears to be hanging from the ceiling, the other is tucked up in a corner. The latter especially is always a challenge from an installation standpoint (sorry, can’t help myself – I used to be an installer :) ).

If you can indulge a few unsolicited tips from a Forum “old timer”:
  • Any speakers mounted overhead (the rears in you case) should be inverted, to get the tweeter as close to ear level as possible. This improves imaging and reduces reflections from the ceiling (we don’t put speakers upside-down on the floor for the same reasons!).
  • Whatever it is on top of the receiver needs to be relocated. It is restricting the airflow the receiver needs to insure safe operation. If the hot air rising out of the vents on top of the receiver has no where to go, there will be a heat build-up inside the receiver’s chassis. Naturally, this can shorten the receiver’s life. In addition, all the heat rising up to the top component is going to get it hot, which can damage it, too. Trust me, I’ve seen it happen more than once.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Gene_K

Auditioning