What's new

Help picking out a 27" flatscreen. (1 Viewer)

Gary:Will

Auditioning
Okay, my birthday is coming up and im looking at buying a 27" flatscreen for gaming and DVD.My budget is around $400-500 and im mainly concered with picture quality. Im not an expert on features and things, so id appreciate some opinions/suggestions.
So far, im mostly interested in these two:
TV #1
TV #2
Thanks ahead of time.
p.s. I really really hate the "First name" thing in your username. It took me forever to finally get a name that wasnt taken. I highly suggest letting people pick whatever names they want, and then having a "nickname" below the user-name with their full name.

Randy_T

Stunt Coordinator
I would go with the Sony. The addition of having 16:9 Enhancement Mode for viewing "Amamorphic" DVD's is a big plus!

Randy T

Randy_T

Stunt Coordinator
I would go with the Sony. The addition of the 16:9 Enhancement Mode for viewing "Amamorphic" DVD's is a big plus!

Randy T

David Lorenzo

Stunt Coordinator
Well if the 16:9 is really important to you, then I would say go ahead and pick up the Sony. If that mode isn't important then go with this Toshiba instead.
http://www.bestbuy.com/detail.asp?e=...cat=24&scat=27
Trust me man. I've had both the Sony in my house and the Toshiba. There is no comparison what so ever. The Toshiba's picture quality is the best out of any 27" analog TV on the market. I'm extremely picky about picture quality and noticed the faults in both sets immediately, but the Toshiba's 2 bad points are negligable compared to it's strengths. The 2 bad points are
1) No anamorphic DVD support.
2) Geometry is pretty bad, although so is every other flatscreen direct view set.