Help picking my first sub

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Evan_Haas, Mar 4, 2004.

1. Evan_Haas

Evan_Haas Extra

I am currently a college student living in a smallish apartment, so obviously money is an issue. I currently have a Sony STR-DA777ES Receiver, with Paradigm Titans as fronts. I currently ran into some extra money so I'm looking to buy by first sub. My main two options at the moment are the Paradigm PDR-8 or PDR-10. I'm looking to keep it in the $300-$350 range, although if there is a better option for less, obviously the better. So lets hear some opinions.

2. eryn shannon

eryn shannon Stunt Coordinator

Have a listen to the Athena AS-P300 and the PSB subzeroi both great 8" subs.

3. JesseBro

JesseBro Stunt Coordinator

get the dayton powered 10" from www.partsexpress.com

i got mine for $138 shipped..... excellent excellent value, especially for a college student like me and you

it rocks my apartment goes pretty low for the money

4. steve nn

steve nn Cinematographer

5. Evan_Haas

Evan_Haas Extra

should i be concerned about matching the brand of speaker? or does that not really matter? i want to be a good decision because i plan on keeping this for quite a while.

6. WayneO

WayneO Supporting Actor

Matching brands is pointless, though hard initially to get over. Buy the best product for the $$$$ at your pricepoint.

7. Jeff Gatie

Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

Let me clarify this by saying matching the brand of your speakers to the brand of your sub is pointless. Matching the brand of your front three speakers is very important and matching the surrounds is a little less important. Do a search on "timbre matching" to see why this is. The sub is not playuing the same frequencies as the other 5 speakers, so timbre matching is a moot point.

8. Tim Stumpf

Tim Stumpf Stunt Coordinator