Help !! -- Parasound Amp & Preamp gone bad !

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by ShalM, Jun 29, 2002.

1. ShalM

ShalM Extra

Hi,

I have been enjoying my setup for the last 4-5 years including Parasound Preamp PSP-1500 mated to a Parasound HCA 1206 (6 channel amp).

Recently some kids visiting us were watching a movie by themselves and dont know what happened really happened but the next time I switched it on to watch something I am getting a signal overload indicator for all the inputs( video & audio) on the preamp. Also 2 of my channels on the amp are showing the Red overload led constantly.

I dont have any way to get what exactly happened when the kids were watching the movie except they were playing it loud at -4 dB, which ideally shouldnt be a problem.

I have isolated the preamp and amplifier completely and just plugged them by themselves thinking maybe a source was overloading them, but the preamp still shows overload led runing bright. Same thing with the amplifier also. I really have no way to test the other channels of the amplifier as that was the only preamp I have.

Could any of the learned members of the forum here familiar with this equipment help me as to what my options would be. The nearest parasound repair center is about 3 hours drive for me and mailing the amplifier to them is gonna cost a lot and hassle. It is out of warranty as the earlier parasounds (before 1998) were warrantied for 2 years only.

Will appreciate any help and guidance.

Thanks.

2. Orin Dym

Orin Dym Stunt Coordinator

Is there a way to restore factory default settings on the preamp (should be in the manual)? I could not tell from your post--If you plug in the amp separated from everything (no rca jacks, no speakers connected) do you get the overload light? Is it on all channels are only one?

3. BruceD

BruceD Screenwriter

Does the 1206 amp, like the 1205, have output level rotary controls for each amp channel?