help on surround speaker placement

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by supermario, Aug 28, 2006.

1. supermario

supermario Auditioning

Aug 20, 2006
    I am a newbie to Home Theater and I am not sure I have the right expectations our of my system. I just got and installed the following equipment:

- 42" Sony rear projection LCD
    - Onkyo TXSR603X receiver
    - Polk Audio Monitor 30 [set of 4 for front and surround L&R]
    - Polk Audio CSM (center channel) and PSW10 sub-woofer.

I am very happy with the sound quality and the tv. However, the surround effects I get are not what I thought. I tried to position the surround speakers so they are equi-distant from the center of the couch (just 2 feet behind and 3 ft above ear level) as described in the Onkyo manual. I hear these speakers only when I increase the volume but then the main speakers are too lound.

I think I might not have positioned the speakers correctly or maybe surround effects are supposed to be subtle? My room is not big (approx. 18x11) but open to other rooms. The speakers seem kind of big (bookshelves) and can get really loud, so I don't think the speakers being to small are the problem. Or, does anyone think they may be?

I used the automatic setup feature in the receiver but did not attempt to override its settings.

Is there a test DVD to calibrate speakers or any method one can follow?

Thanks in advance,

2. jonny h

jonny h Agent

Oct 23, 1999
    There are test DVDs out there. Two DVDs meant specifically for this kind of thing are AVIA and Digital Video Essentials (DVE). They both have sections on sound set-up and video set-up. Also, check out the THX optimizer on a DVD that's THX certified... I think they have the same kind of thing. Finally, your receiver should have the test tones built in. So there are three avenues you can go down.