What's new

Help on HT configuration under $7000 (1 Viewer)

PrinceJuan

Auditioning
Hi Guys,

I am very new to this HT systems, but i did some research on some high end systems within 7000$ range.

reciever - onkyo/denon/marantz 7.1(not able to decide )
bose 901 reflecting speakers
B&W nautilus 802 /803 speakers
centre - nautilus HTM1
subwooper - SVS PB2-ISD

i want to know if the speakers configuration is ok, or do i need to change some thing in this configuration like model no or something different of equivalent brands.i will be using this system more for dvd movies.

my living room is of size 16" by 12". I have three doors on three walls and one wall is total glass opening to the balcony.i stay very close to the airport so i get lot of noise from outside even if the doors are closed.

can anyone suggest how i should put the system together i.e placement wise.

any help would be appreciated.

--Prince

Philip>L

Stunt Coordinator
You're going to want to find a better speaker than the 901s. They were revolutionary in the late 60s, but haven't improved much since then. You can buy far better speakers for far less money...

Daneel

Stunt Coordinator
Hi,

Are you planning to buy second hand or are you getting some very nice prices on your equipment?

Here in the UK the 803s cost £3500 ($5600) a pair, the 802s £6000 ($9600) and the HTM1 £1500 ($2400) so I'm wondering how you can get all of that kit for just $7000 as just the cheaper speakers with a center exceeds your budget?

Also I would suggest that driving any of the B&W N range with just a receiver would not be a good idea. I'm looking at the 700 series myself and wondering how my Pioneer 45tx will handle them never mind the far more demanding 800s. I will probably add a power amp.

Given your budget and room size you might want to have a look at the 700 series yourself. You may find them a better fit.

PrinceJuan

Auditioning
Guys thanks for replying.