What's new

Help on buying HT speakers w/ limited budget (1 Viewer)

Lou>S

Auditioning
Hi.

I got these HT speakers/sub for $399 + tax:

Cambridge Soundworks Newton Series MC100.2

But it was paired w/ this subwoofer.
Cambridge Soundworks Basscube 10S

I am currently testing it at home and I do like it. But since I am a newbie in HT I would like to know others opinion.

Would this be the best 5.1 speaker sets I can get at that price? If there are better 5.1 speaker sets, I am willing to go up to $600. Also I prefer small thumbprints for the fronts and rears like the CSW.

I currently use the Sony STR-DE485 as receiver and my old speakers were some tiny KLH. I plan on upgrading the receiver in the near future.

Anthony*B

Stunt Coordinator
ive never heard the cambridge speakers, but my combo at home (for the ultra low budget HT fan :) ) is the Fluance AV (SX-HTB?? oddly enough im blanking on which ones they are-not the lowest priced set but the next one up)-HTB's + the popular Dayton 125$ sub often mentioned on the boards...total for entire setup should be well under 500$ for the entire shebang INCLUDING SHIPPING-the Fluance fronts are floor standers too, not little satellites, making it an even more impressive deal i think

TonyWright

Second Unit
I have to agree with Anthony. I have not heard the Fluance speakers, but I have read some good posts from people who like them. You certainly can't beat the cost!

Tony

ChadLB

Screenwriter
Other thoughts:
If you still can find the JBL NSP1II Surround Packages and just buy a seperate sub.

Rocket Tykes with a Kenwood digital receiver for $499 ***Great Buy*** http://www.av123.com/products_produc...s&product=42.1

HSU Ventriloquist - http://hsuresearch.com/ and there sub

These are all great ideas.