HELP! No Sound!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Steve Gazi, Jan 4, 2002.

  1. Steve Gazi

    Steve Gazi Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 1999
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just hooked together my Kenwood VR-507 and my Panasonic RV-31 DVD player. I am using an optical audio cable from my DVD player to my receiver. I can get video when I play my DVDs, but I don't get any sound. I've run the test tone to see if I get sound. The sound is sort of like the crowd from a sports game. Is that what I'm supposed to hear? I don't have my surrounds hooked up, so I turned those off. I have my fronts and my center connected. I get the test sound from all three speakers. I just tried the tuner and all I get is normal static. I did this to see if the test tone was just static, but it's definately a different sound. Do I need to set my DVD player different, or what?
     
  2. Ches Campbell

    Ches Campbell Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2001
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you need to set your DVD player to send a DOlby Digital and DTS signal. Push action on the remote and scroll through the menus till you get to the one where you can turn DD and DTS on and off. The default setting is off, so you ned to turn it on. This shoudl do the trick.
    Later
     
  3. Joseph Young

    Joseph Young Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes. On your DVD player menu, there should be an 'optical' setting in the audio area. Depending on the player, you will either have to turn it on, or simply switch a setting from analog to optical.
    When you have an optical cable but it's not set, the cable will still override your default audio which is why you aren't hearing anything. As for the 'crowd noise,' it may just be speaker hum or perhaps your subwoofer.
    Hope this is helpful in any way... sorry if it's not. [​IMG]
    Joseph
     
  4. Steve Gazi

    Steve Gazi Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 1999
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hooked up my PS2 and I get sounds through that. I'm going to work on my DVD player now. I hooked up my Sony SM-40 sub, but it's not doing anything. I have it connected to the subwoofer pre-amp connection on my receiver and the line in on the sub. It's got power and I have it turned on on the receiver.
     
  5. Steve Gazi

    Steve Gazi Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 1999
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In my audio menu I have the following:

    PCM Downconversion: Off

    Dolby Digital: Bitstream

    DTS Digital Surround: Bitstream

    D. Range Comp: Forget what it is

    Audio Dir Sea: Forget what it is

    I do have sound now.

    First I have to set the above to the best settings. I also need to know what mode to set my receiver at. There are a bunch of setting that have sound, but I don't know which to use. My powered sub still isn't doing anything.
     
  6. Sean Conklin

    Sean Conklin Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,720
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Make sure you press the "Input mode" button on the front of your receiver until the display reads "D-AUTO". Since you are using optical, do you have the connection plugged into the CD/DVD input?
     
  7. Steve Gazi

    Steve Gazi Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 1999
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have it set to D-AUTO. I get sound from the DVD player. In the manual it says you can set it to 3 STEREO, which is the fronts, center and subwoofer. Everytime I set it to that, it shows up with all those speakers in the little speaker diagram, but them just the L and R one stay lit. I haven't heard anything from my subwoofer yet. I don't get any sound in any mode with it set on DVD 6.1, but I get sound with CD/DVD. I don't know why the subwoofer and center channel don't stay lit on that diagram?
    Which plug should I have the sub plug going to? Subwoofer pre-amp, or the one that just says subwoofer?
    Here's a link to the back of my receiver:
    http://crutchfield.com/cgi-bin/S-OPW...507&display=XL
     
  8. Steve Gazi

    Steve Gazi Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 1999
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did have a 12' 75ohm coax cable with adapters for my sub cable. I swapped it out for the cheapo one that came with it. It worked! Not sure what wrong with the good cable I bought for it.
     

Share This Page