Help newbie: Best Plasma screen

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Anish, Jul 27, 2002.

1. Anish

Anish Stunt Coordinator

Hi,

I am new in the market for a Plasma screen display for my new home. I have been reading up quite a bit for research purposes to find the best plasma screen display to buy. My parents are fixed on the notion that anything from Sony electronics kicks ass, so Sony/Panasonic is all that my dad buys.

I was wondering if some of the experts in this forum can enlighten me as to what brands would be the best to consider for plasma screen displays. I am looking at the 50" size (61" is a possibility but might be too expensive). I would be primarily using it for DVDs and of course regular cable/satellite TV. I would look into getting Direct TV satellite... but if not that, then I would get digital cable.

Please suggest what displays would be the best in the market right now.

Thank you for your help.

2. Corey Holter

Corey Holter Agent

Anish,

I have a 42" Panasonic plasma and am very pleased. From reading done at avsforum.com (recommended site for plasma research, BTW), it would appear that the best 50" plasma's are: Panasonic, Pioneer, and Fujitsu (roughly in that order). The Sony plasmas are not there just yet.

3. Anish

Anish Stunt Coordinator

Thanks Corey. I did see the 42" Panasonic here in the local store and it looks sweet! Now I would be interested in a 50" Panasonic. I am assuming that the th50pwd3u is the latest 50" from Panasonic, or is that their old one? I don't see a 50" on their website currently. All I see is the PT-42PD3-P which is a 42".

Edit: I just saw a LINK on the panasonic site, off the 42" page to these models: PT-50PD3-P, PT-42PHD4-P and PT-50PHD4-P.

Specifically looking at the PT50PD3P and the PT50PHD4P, both are HDTV/EDTV compatible and do progressive scan. But are there any recommendations from you guys between the two?

4. DanielSmi

DanielSmi Second Unit