Help-my computer was wiped out overnight!

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Tim L, Aug 2, 2005.

1. Tim L

Tim L Second Unit

I can't believe this happened- and don't know how it could happen-I booted up my computer this morning (windows XP) it seemed to be booting nomally- but when my desktop came up it was only my desktop background-nothing else! everything is gone- I can't right click- infact there is nothing to click on- no toolbars-nothing. Where did everything go- its like my computer is suddenly empty. I am no computer expert so I am freaking on this somewhat-I have information that I cannot afford to lose-any suggestiosn or ideas?
    Tim

2. Mike LS

Mike LS Supporting Actor

Sounds like a virus or a registry problem to me.

Since you seem to have internet access through a different computer, run a google search with the symptoms. I searched for "blank desktop on boot up" and got a lot of hits with information.

3. DaveF

DaveF Moderator

David Fischer
    The first thing is to stop, think through a diagnosis and recovery plan, if even partially, and then take it one step at a time. Don't change multiple things at once, as you risk confusing the problem and yourself, creating new problems. Above all else, Don't Panic. [​IMG]

Who used your computer last? What did they do? Can you think of any events that might have (inadvertently) led to computer problems or the downloading of a malicious program? Was your firewall and anti-virus sofware disabled at some point?

Do you have a computer-savvy friend, who could remove your hard-drive, install it working computer and duplicate its contents? Or (something I've never done) is to boot from a floppy or CD-based alternate OS, a Linux variant, and use that to backup your harddrive. The value is to circumvent any Windows-based viruses or malware during the backup process.

Do you have a recovery disk -- a bootable floppy or CD? If so, try booting from that to see if things are amiss.