HELP: mid-priced a/v receiver suggestions??

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by JimmyL, May 11, 2006.

1. JimmyL

JimmyL Auditioning

Newbie here. I'm an old stereo guy who now wants to upgrade to an A/V system but I also still want decent sound for music reproduction. When I say music I'm talking analog (vinyl and audio cassette) in addition to CDs/DVDs. I still have a vintage yamaha TT and a Nakamichi cassette deck, I'll want to connect and listen to in addition to a Sony CD player and a DVD player. I'm thinking of running my old Infinity floor standing 3 ways as B's or zone 2 and a 2nd hand set of Boston Micro surrounds for the home theatre (4 micro 90's with center and sub I picked up 2nd hand) to start. I'll be listening to music say 3/4 of the time and maybe cable/movies 1/4 so the music reproduction is very important to me. I'm looking in the $400-700 range.

Are particular receiver brands better for music/stereo? Any receiver suggestions for this old stereo guy?? Thanks in advance.

2. Shane Harg

Shane Harg Second Unit

I also listen to a lot of vinyl and have more of that than anything else, except for DVDs (it's about even). I also watch a lot of movies, however, and recently purchased the Yamaha RX-V2600 HT receiver and couldn't be happier. The sound on music is extremely rich and smooth as silk.