What's new

Help me!!! (1 Viewer)

Eric Eash

Second Unit
i have been reading everything i can here on the boards and still cannot make up my mind. my HT room is 17'x 17' with 8' ceilings, but is open to the bathroom, 2 bedrooms and the dining room, so i'm not sure exactly what i need, but i want the same earth shattering bass everyone else wants. i have been in constant contact with the people from stryke and adire, but would like to hear your opinions. i roughly want to spend around $800 or less on the components not including the building supplies. i was thinking an AV15 w/ 2 18" PR's from stryke and their $170 350W plate amp in a 24" cube. this comes out to $675 not including shipping. on the other hand, i could build a dual tempest ported or sealed enclosure with 350W to each for $640. but to tell you the truth, i've never built a sub before and don't really know anything about it. all i know is i want bass just like all the svs guys have except better, and cheaper. any help or suggestions?

thanks,

eric

Brian-K-Owens

Stunt Coordinator
You have as choices:

1. single AV-15 with PR's and single amp
2. dual ported tempests with dual amps

I would add:

3. dual ported AV-15's with dual amps

option 3 would be $750 for parts.

I just finished a ported AV-15 on the amp350 for a friend. his room is 16x20 with 10ft ceilings and is completely open to the dining room and kitchen (I would guess another 16x20 with 10ft ceilings.). The single sub does pretty darn good.

If you could afford more, I would go with a good prosound amp over a pair of the plate amps, but it would put you up around $1100 if you went with something like the QSC PLX-2402. The single AV-15 we built has a lot more output on my QSC amp over the plate amp!!!

Brian

Eric Eash

Second Unit
yeah, i've heard about the pro amps, just don't think i could wing it. what are the differences between PR setups and ported. from everyone i've talked to, they say to go the PR route. thanks for the help brian.