Help me spruce up/upgrade my HT (long)

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Leif Wall, Jul 13, 2001.

1. Leif Wall

Leif Wall Second Unit

After getting into dvd and HT awhile ago, I all of a sudden got into car audio and started spending all my money on that. Well, things change and I'm not getting heavily back into HT. (probably because I lost my license for 1 1/2 years)
    So, anyways I'm looking to make some adjustments/improvements to my somewhat okay system.
    Currently it's like this:
    32" Toshiba tv
    Pioneer VSX-D608 DD/DTS receiver
    Sony DVP-S530D dvd player
    Polk Audio RT55 fronts, RT35 rears, CS245 center
    JBL pb12 Subwoofer
    Monster Cable all around
    PS2, Dreamcast, N64
    I'm a college student and only make $6.75 an hour at my job. So upgrades and alterations will have to be within reason. No HDTV or super high-end stuff for me just yet.
    A couple things I'd like to add are a somewhat okay vcr, cd player, and a universal (maybe touchscreen) remote. My dvd remote just died, so that's at the top of the list. Thinking about that Sony RM-AV2100 which can be had for $90 online.
    Another thing that I've been looking into is one of those mega cd changers for music listening. I'm really into music and have a lot of cds. My dvd player won't play CD-Rs. I was looking into a 5 disc changer, but thought it might be more convenient to have 300 or so cds at my control. Any suggestions on a good changer that isn't too spendy and that doesn't break/jam would be apprecieated.
    I'll be picking up a cheap hifi stereo vcr sometime as well. Nothing fancy since I only watch old taped episodes of Seinfeld, Simpsons, Mr. Show, etc... anyways.