1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Help me please (receiver advice)-

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by peter a, Jun 21, 2002.

1. peter a

peter a Stunt Coordinator

Hey guys-
    So, after reading on and on about how great the axiom speakers are- i've decided to go with the following:

M60ti (pair)
    M22ti (pair)
    VP150
    and possibly an SVS 25-31Pci sub

now, i'm fairly new to this... i'd like a receiver capable of possibly 6.1 in the future, and one which boasts a clean sound and great power... i'm willing to pay about 7 or 8 hundred for it, and i've been advised to look and Onkyo, Marantz, Denon, and HK. can someone guide me just a little more as to what i would need in a receiver, and possibly suggest some options? also- i guess the SVS has a built in amp, so that i won't need to purchase another, right? thanks in advance.
    peter

2. Matt_Sulli

Matt_Sulli Agent

good starting list, but if you can find it check out the sherwood newcastle r-956 or r-863, they are 6.1 and 7.1 recievers respectively with 120x6 and 100x7 watts, neither have anything over 5.1 processing even though they have the amplifiers for the 6th and 7th channels, the r-956 goes for 1200msrp, and 1000 for the r-863, but check around the web and you can probably find them in your price range.

also look at the outlaw reciever, haven't heard one myself, but lots of people are very happy with them, and it only cost 600 i think, but only avail. from their website.

3. Kevin Parker

Kevin Parker Stunt Coordinator