help me pick a new dvd player for a front projection DLP

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Sean Patrick, May 24, 2004.

1. Sean Patrick

Sean Patrick Supporting Actor

can anyone help me make a quick decision? it's been so long since i've been in the market for a dvd player that I'm overwhelmed by the new offerings....

i've been using a Panny RP91 for a few years on my 16:9 tube and have been pretty happy with it. I needed that particular model for scaling... looks like i'm going to be going front-projection soon and will need to get another dvd player (won't need scaling this time). here's what i need:

a decoder chip that will look good/excellent on a large screen (100" approx)
    dvd-audio and SACD decoding (hopefully with good bass management)
    dd/dts 6.1 or 7.1 capabilities
    don't want to spend too much

things like layer switch time, etc, aren't real factors since i'm used the the Rp91's LONG layer switches.

i hear great things about the Panasonic RP82 but it looks like that one's disctontinued, and the new Zenith that everyone's talking about (the hd dvd player) doesn't do dvd-audio.

thanks!

2. Neil Joseph

Neil Joseph Lead Actor

Neil Joseph
    Moving to Audio/Video Sources.

3. DaveGTP

DaveGTP Cinematographer

The Denon 2200 & 2900 aren't Faroudja based, but the Silicon Image chip is supposed to be just as good or better at film-based sources. Plus they are DVD audio & SACD. If you watch mostly film dvds, they may be a good choice for you. They are probably worth considering. Pricey though! [​IMG]

4. Don_Berg

Don_Berg Supporting Actor

If you want DVD-audio look for a Panasonic XP50 on EBAY or go for the Denon DVD-2200 or DVD-2900.

5. Greg Bright

Greg Bright Second Unit

Gregory Bright
    Toshiba will soon be releasing their SD6915 which will have DVD-A, SACD, bass management and more. It's the one I'm planning to get this fall

Toshiba changer

Greg

6. Sean Patrick