Help me figure out what to do

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Derin.Yilmaz, Jun 19, 2002.

1. Derin.Yilmaz

Derin.Yilmaz Auditioning

I'm trying to set up a system, but unfortunately I don't have the opportunity to hear most of this stuff, so I have to make a decision based on peoples' recommendations. I'm trying to choose main speakers, a receiver, and a sub. So far I'm trying to decide between:
    Either a Denon 2802 receiver or H/K 520
    For speakers:
    Klipsch RF3, Infinity IL50, JBL S312II, Polk RT1000i
    For the sub:
    Either an Infinity IL120 or Infinity HPS-1000

I'm leaning towards the infinity speakers based on what people said at audioreview.com, but I'm not really sure. So, please tell me what to do

2. Henry_W

Henry_W Stunt Coordinator

First of all I am a horn fan so grain of salt my comments - and I have had little experience other speakers so..

Advice is to buy speakers you like - they can last a long time and be the center of ongoing changes. Make sure they are pleasing to your ears and go from there.

In my experience the Denon product better matches the Horns. Althought the HK is no slouch there either.

I have heard the Infinity subs and I think you have many worthy competitors in a better price performance category. Big and ugly SVS for one and all indications are the HSU VTF 2 is an extraordinary deal -

2 cents..

3. Derin.Yilmaz

Derin.Yilmaz Auditioning

In what way are horns different from other types of speakers?

4. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John
    Horn refers to a "horn loaded driver", which is essentially a large waveguide for the driver in quesion, and is most commonly used in conjunction with a tweeter. Klipsch, as you have listed, use horn style tweeters vs domes used by the others. Horn tweeters tend to have a "brighter" sound, that some like, I do not.
    I agree with Henry on the subs.
    What is the application? Movies/music, size of room, etc...