help me figure internal volume with these parameters

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by rodneyH, Aug 4, 2002.

1. rodneyH

rodneyH Supporting Actor

I have a spare SVS standard driver, and a very nice end table (cabnet) that is enclosed, I am thinking about building a box a dropping in right in the end table, so it looks very nice. It looks like I could drop a box in with the internal volume of about 3.25 cubic feet (internal dimensions of the sub box would be about 20"WX17.5"HX16"D (which should equal about 3.24 if my math is corrrect). Cane someone tell me if I would need a port?, if so how big of a diameter, length?, how much poly fill to put it? (I am a beginner at this and don't understand tuning, while some of you appear to be GREAT at it, I don't want to screw it up). I would assume I want it tuned to 20 or 22 Hz if possible.

here are the dimensions of the SVS driver

SVS Stats:
    ----------
    FS- 21 hz
    Qts- .38
    Qes- .39
    Qms- 6.6
    Vas- 4.6 ft^3 or 130 liters
    Z Impedance- 4ohms
    Re- 3.2ohms
    SPL- ~87dB
    X-max- ~14mm
    power handling- ~200w
    ---------------------

sorry if it is a stupid question and thanks for giving me help!!

also,the driver will face down, is that the same direction the port should face?? any other recommendations are much appreciated

2. Adam Bluhm

Adam Bluhm Supporting Actor

I just posted in somewhat of a related thread. I have WINisd, but that's a bit confusing. I want to begin working on a single ported Shiva sonosub.
    I'll begin doing a search for this program you speak of and mess with that some. [​IMG]
    «edit»
    I don't have excell. Unibox is a nogo. [​IMG]

3. rodneyH

rodneyH Supporting Actor

John, what if I increased the size to 3.56 cubic feet??

is that a differance enough, and what would I be at then if it was sealed Vs ported???

4. rodneyH

rodneyH Supporting Actor

yep, the program didn't work for me either

5. Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun Moderator