Help Me Design My Home Theater...Please

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by James^C, Sep 27, 2004.

1. James^C

James^C Extra

Hello. I am new to HTF although I have been reading countless posts for the past couple of weeks. My wife and I just moved into a new house and I have received "approval" to conctruct a dedicated home theater in our basement. I have been mildly involved with some home theater equipment. I currently have:

Def Tech Speakers (BP's)
    Panny 49" wide screen
    JVC 5.1 receiver
    JVC DVD player
    DirecTV w/ tivo

I would like to upgrade the equipment and construct the home theater this winter. My problem is that I know nothing about projectors, projector screens, lighting, etc.

Projectors: Can they be HD? How long to the bulbs last? How big can the screens be? Can I watch TV on them? Etc.

Please help me pick equipment for my HT. I will need:

Projector
    Projector Screen (preferably retractable)
    Sub (I think I will get a SVS but I don't know which one)
    New Receiver
    New DVD Player
    Should I go with 7.1 or keep it 5.1?
    Etc., Ect., Ect...

I don't want to go "top of the line" equipment but I want to do it right! Something "middle of the road" would be great.

Thanks!
    James[​IMG]

2. Stephen Heidt

Stephen Heidt Auditioning

The first thing that we would need to provide suggestions to you is your planned budget and exactly which pieces that budget will cover. Without that, it would be tough to give you any real suggestions, since projectors and screens have such a large range of prices.