Help me decide whether or not to buy this pre/pro

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by EricHaas, Mar 20, 2002.

1. EricHaas

EricHaas Supporting Actor

OK, I am totally new to separates. I have a Denon 3801 that I have had for a short time, and Paradigm Reference speakers. My system is 70/30 ht/music. Anyhow, I wouldn't seriously consider moving to separates, but a friend of mine is moving abroad for 2 years, and is selling off his stuff because he doesn't want to store it.

He has a pre/pro - the model is Lexicon MC-1. He has owned it for a year. It is in perfect condition like all his stuff. I have demoed it at his place. It sounds great of course, but he has B&W Nautilus speakers and 2 Krell amps so I can't isolate what the pre/pro adds to his system. He will sell it to me for $1800. If I don't want it, he is going to pawn it on Ebay. He thinks he will get $2500 for it there. Based on the prices I see online, I'd say that is conservative.

Anyway, what I want to know is whether I should expect this $1800 to add significantly to my system. Obviously, I will have to add an amp. However, spending the $1800 leaves me with maybe $800 for a used amp, and that's assuming I can sell my 3801 for around $500. I don't really know what it adds featurewise, except Logic 7, and I don't really know what that does to tell you the truth.

Should I grab this pre/pro, wait for the Outlaw 950, or just add an amp and use my 3801 as a pre/pro?

PS: I see there is a review of this component in a thread below.

2. Zbigniew

Zbigniew Stunt Coordinator

Eric,

MC-1 for 1800 ?

GO for it !!!!

For sound processing, versatility and beautiful sound stage - you would have to spend 2-3 times more to get noticeably better performance. You can use 38xx as amp untill you get decent amp - look at parasound and rotel units.

Enjoy.

_zjt

3. EricHaas