Help in getting the best picture

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Louisp, Jun 24, 2006.

1. Louisp

Louisp Stunt Coordinator

Feb 23, 2004
    Louis Patrick
    We have the Sony 42A10 HDTV and would like help in getting the best possible picture from it. The TV is connected to a Directv H20 HDTV Receiver via HDMI. Audio comes from our HK AVR 635 using optical for the DTV and Coxial for the DVD. Our DVD is the Denon DVD-2200.

I tried using one of those test dvds and was not successful in adjusting the picture so I reset the video back to factory specification. As you can tell I am not technically inclined.

Thanks in advance.
  2. Joseph DeMartino

Joseph DeMartino Lead Actor

Jun 30, 1997
    Joseph DeMartino
    Which test DVD did you use, and what do you mean by "not successful in adjusting the picture"? People who are used to seeing the hideously maladjusted factory settings and think they (or something like them) represent "normal" are often put off by the result the when they first properly adjust their TVs using Digital Video Essentials or Avia Guide to Home Theater. (Any other "test disc" is apt to be a waste of time and money.)