HELP!!! I'm a Novice.

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Cheri Casey, Jan 4, 2004.

1. Cheri Casey

Cheri Casey Auditioning

I am trying to decide on a larger, flat screen TV and I'm so very confused. I would like to buy a 32"-36" tv simply to watch sports on with regular cable. Of course, I will watch some DVDs, but my focus is sports. I have read numerous posts here and most focus on DVDs. What about just regular TV? I will probably get digital cable next football season, if I can figure this TV thing out.

I have read and been out and looked at sets and my head is spinning. I am thinking maybe a Toshiba 36AF43. Right now it is available at bestbuy.com for $853, free shipping and $99 for a 4 year warranty. And I will go to the local store and talk to them too.

First, is this the best TV for my money? And second, what else do I need? Cables and what all? Can I hook this up by myself? I am a female, so I can read instructions (sorry, guys, no offense intended.........lol).

You guys are so very knowledgeable about all this. Please remember when you reply that I know virtually nothing about electronics, ok?

Thanks for any help you can give me.

Cheri

[​IMG]

2. Dave Schofield

Dave Schofield Second Unit

I'll throw my $0.02 in the ring and say that, no matter what, do NOT buy the Best Buy extended warranty. Most problems that you could possibly have will be in the first year or less, which is normally covered under the manufacturer's warranty. Best Buy makes a ton of unearned money off of the extended warranty racket.

I would suggest, if you are looking at a number of models, a trip to AudioReview.com would be extremely helpful.

As far as cables and the like, it will entirely depend on your source material. I would guess you'll probably want the following:

Component cables (for DVD)
    RCA cables (for audio from DVD)
    S-Video cable (for digital cable)
    RCA cables (for audio from digital cable)

Take a trip to the Home Theater Basics Forum