HELP: IE/Outlook Express can't access internet, but Firefox and other apps can!

Discussion in 'Computers' started by NickSo, Jul 6, 2006.

  1. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    Yeah I know, "switch to firefox", but my dad has a bunch of sites that aren't FF capable, and he his email is all set up in OE, so switching is not an option.

    Basically yeah, its weird. All other programs that access the internet work fine, except IE and OE (when sending email or accessing Hotmail via HTTP, POP mail works fine).

    For IE, when I start up I get a "syntax invalid error" message. If i try and visit a site, I get a DNS error.

    OE only breaks when accessing Hotmail (which uses HTTP) and sending mail via SMTP.

    I've tried rebooting the router, with no luck. Refreshing the IP address doesn't work either.

    Ideas? Registry settings? Problems with a windows update patch?

    Thanks
     
  2. Rommel_L

    Rommel_L Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure there is no check beside File > Work Offline.
     
  3. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    Just checked.... nope, nothin' beside "working offline"
     
  4. Rommel_L

    Rommel_L Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried setting up an internet connection (in IE)? It's in Tools > Internet Options > Connections
     
  5. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    Tried the Internet Connection setup, no dice. Ran Spybot S&D and Adaware, no difference.
     
  6. Rommel_L

    Rommel_L Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    When did you notice IE / OE can't connect to the web? Maybe it's time to use System Restore to the time before these problems arose...
     
  7. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    I tried to reinstall SP2, as that was MS's recommendation for repairing IE and OE on WinXP SP2, with no luck.

    I believe this was the result of damage of a virus; I looked through the Event Log, and there seemed to be some tweaked files (one of which was iexplorer.exe) and warnings from my AntiVirus a few days ago, when this all supposedly started (my Dad was using it when it happened).

    I wanted to add a new System Restore point on my computer before I went ahead and reinstalled SP2, but it would not open, so thats not an option.

    If I can't find any more info on google, I think I'm going to just have to do a repair install of WinXP.
     
  8. Rommel_L

    Rommel_L Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Update and run all your antivirus / antispyware first. Then try to fix winsock. Thanks for not telling about the virus problem in the first place... [​IMG]
     
  9. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    My apologies, I had not looked in the Event Viewer, and didn't find the virus problem until after I posted all that.

    Fix Winsock? I'll google it myself.
     
  10. Rommel_L

    Rommel_L Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any update?
     
  11. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    Nope, been posting up on google groups to no avail.

    Been running a bunch of different virus scanners and adware killers with no result.

    I guess I gotta suck it up and do a repair install of XP.
     
  12. Rommel_L

    Rommel_L Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2000
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think you need to that yet. Do a repair install of just IE and OE...
     

Share This Page