Help! I need CIV3 Tips

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Henry C, Nov 13, 2001.

1. Henry C

Henry C Stunt Coordinator

Greetings,
    I started playing CIV with the original game and now I'm starting CIV3. I can never really beat the game at the highest levels, though I can hang in there for a while in CIV2 at the King level. I know thats probably pretty lame to most people. I am hoping to do better with CIV3, so I want to get started with some tips. Hopefully, you guys can give me a hand in mastering this game.
    I just have a couple of rules when I play that I try to stick to, and it seems to do pretty well....up to the King level in CIV2.
    For CIV2
    Basically, I try to build as many cities as possible. Preferably in localtions with resources and space them apart so that they don't overlap each other. I defend them with a lot of troops and build out irrigation and mines. Then I invest as much in science as possible and race up the tech tree. Then I just try to defend well and try to win via the spaceship.
    I have a feeling that this is not going to work in CIV3. First of all, the computer AI seems much tougher and the same strategies does not seem to be working for me.
    So I am hoping that you guys can give me tips on what I should do in the early games and some long term strategies.
    1) Should I try to space out the cities so that their resource squares don't overlap? And does resources make a BIG difference in the development of a city?
    2) Is the number of cities the key to victory? In any type of victory?
    3) Is racing up the science tree a good strategy if I neglect military development (offensive) and commerce?
    That's all I can think of at the moment, anything that you guys can help me would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
    Henry

2. Kenneth

Kenneth Supporting Actor

Henry,