Help! I might have messed up when buying my multi-disc DVD player

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Rob T, Dec 14, 2002.

1. Rob T

Rob T Screenwriter

I've been building up my home theater for a few months now. A couple months ago, I got a Toshiba SD-3805 and a JVC RX-7520VBK. Last night, I got a Onkyo SKS-HT500 speaker set.
    Today, when I went to hook it all up with my dad, we noticed that the connections on the player weren't exactly compatible with the connections on the receiver.
    I was under the impression that any DVD player (even cheap ones) could do 5.1 sound if it was hooked up to a good enough receiver. Am I totally wrong about that? If I am then I guess I got messed up when buying my player which is wierd since I told the salesman that the main reason that I'm getting all this is for the 5.1 sound and he seemed to understand.

2. Mike Likens

Mike Likens Stunt Coordinator

Your setup should be compatible with 5.1 surround. Use a digital connection from your DVD player to your receiver. You will also need to make the appropriate selections in your setup menus for your dvd player and receiver.

3. Rob T

Rob T Screenwriter

ok. Thanks. I guess we just gotta keep working at it then. [​IMG]

4. AdamM

AdamM Extra

You will need to purchase and Optical audio cable, also called a Toslink cable. You can get one at Wal-Mart for for about $16-$25. Plug one end into the optical out on the DVD Player and the other on the optical input on your Receiver. Next you will need to change the output setting on the DVD Player to Bitstream, Dolby Digital, or DTS (Check you manual). Next assign the Optical input on your Receiver to your DVD Player (again check the manual). You should be good to go. Play a movie and your receiver should switch to Dolby Digital when it detects the signal. BTW, I didn't think I had mine set up right because the menus are not in DD or DTS, so start the movie.

5. Rob T

Rob T Screenwriter