help: how do you change videotape record speed without VCR remote?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ernest Aguayo, Jan 1, 2002.

  1. Ernest Aguayo

    Ernest Aguayo Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2000
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey everyone...

    I have a JVC VCR that I want to use to dump something from my TiVo. The VCR defaults to SP for a blank tape, but I want to select LP or EP to record more stuff per tape.

    The problem is, I can't find the remote for the VCR, which has a handy "speed" button to toggle between SP, LP, and EP. Anyone know how I can change the speed setting the VCR will record at without the remote?

    Help!

    Thanks....
     
  2. Chuck Kent

    Chuck Kent Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 29, 1999
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    With any of the VCRs I have, you can only change the recording speed from either the remote or the programming menu.

    If you can't get into the menu, then you'll probably need to borrow or buy a cheap VCR replacement remote.
     
  3. Ernest Aguayo

    Ernest Aguayo Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2000
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks, chuck.

    yeah, i think i will have to go buy a remote somewhere and hopefully i can access the speed setting that way.

    my concern is: i think the lost remote had a "speed" button and i wonder if a replacement/universal remote will let me access that function directly or through a menu....

    if a universal remote doesn't work, i will have to buy a JVC remote specifically, but i am sure that is expensive.
     

Share This Page