Help! - having problems with Nvidia 6600GT

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Glenise, Mar 30, 2005.

  1. Glenise

    Glenise Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2001
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've checked the forum and was unable to find this answer.
    How in the world do I get 1440x960 to stay with a crt projector?
    (Using the vga port by the way)
    I tried Nvidia's display control panel and powerstrip.
    When using Nvidia's control panel, the pc will only go back to 1440x576.
    Right now it's set at 1280x1024.
    Is anyone using a Nvidia 6600GT agp card set at 1440x960?
    If so, can you please give me step by step instructions on how to make these settings stay?
    The crt projector is an Electrome 9500.
    I'm also using the latest version Nvidia driver, 71.84.
    The pc is Windows xp with sp2.
    Motherboard, Asus P4C800E Deluxe and Intel 3.2
    (Oh yeah, this is my Dad's pc so I won't be able to try anymore stuff until I'm back at his place)
    Does anyone know the correct timing settings, horizontal and vertical settings, back porch, front porch, etc.?

    These are the instructions that I used from Nvidia and powerstrip.
    I didn't have any luck with the instructions by the way.

    http://nvidia.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/n...wYWdlPTE*&p_li

    and

    http://www.entechtaiwan.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=24
     
  2. Max Leung

    Max Leung Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you using the latest beta version of PowerStrip? If not, you should - better support for the 6600GT!
     
  3. Glenise

    Glenise Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2001
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thx for the info!
     
  4. Mike_J_Potter

    Mike_J_Potter Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check out the coolbits reg hack. That will let you setup the card to run at any custom resolution setting/refresh rate you choose. Not to mention tweaks for everything else on the card and video output, and the ability to overclock the card if you want. It does this all through the normal nvidia dispaly menu so its easy to tweak. I am running it on a 6600gt with the same drivers as you without issues even with it overclocked a bit.

    Here is the link

    http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=815
     
  5. Glenise

    Glenise Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2001
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got the 1440x960 setting to stay but now I have this problem.
    (Once I shift the screen to the left using the Nvidia adjust screen feature in the control panel and save this info to the defaul profile, everything is fine. After I reboot the pc, the sceen goes back to the left again)

    My Dad has an Electrohome 9500 projector that's set at 1440x960.
    Does anyone have the horizontal and vertical settings for this projector or another crt projector at this resolution?
    He is using a Nvidia 660GT
    When xp boots up, the screen is shifted to the left.
    I tried several times to modify the default profile but it won't stay.
    I also tried to add another profile but that didn't work.
    He is an admin user in xp.
    I hooked a computer monitor to this same pc and was able to get the settings to stay. (moving the picture over to the right using the screen adjustment option in the Nvidia control panel.)
    This projector also works properly with another pc that has an ATI 9800 pro card.
    So the last resort is to modify the horizontal sync settings.
    I forgot to write down his settings today to compare with anyone who posts this info.

    Thx
     
  6. Max Leung

    Max Leung Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2000
    Messages:
    4,611
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You might have better luck with Powerstrip in this case. The latest beta should help.

    I too have had a hard time getting NVIDIA settings to stick.
     

Share This Page