What's new

Help! Gamecube and PS2 and only 1 component input! (1 Viewer)

Ryan_C

Second Unit
Joined
Aug 9, 2000
Messages
369
I need some advice. My tv only has 2 component inputs, and one is for my DVD player. I currently have my PS2 hooked up to the other input. Problem is I am hopefully getting a Gamecube off a fellow HTF member with component cables. Does anyone make a component switcher of some sort, versus having to swap hookups everytime I play a different console? Thanks in advance for the help, didn't ever think I would run into this problem!
 

James St

Supporting Actor
Joined
May 8, 1999
Messages
959
Ryan,
I'm using a Sony a/v switcher for changing between component signals. I run all three video signals through the composite, left and right audio inputs on the switcher and it works fine.
l158SBV40Scomp.jpeg

Radio Shack has cheaper ones that I hear work just as well. JVC makes one designed for component switching but its a little pricey at $100.
http://www.crutchfield.com/cgi-bin/S...JXS111&o=m&a=0
 

Ryan_C

Second Unit
Joined
Aug 9, 2000
Messages
369
James,

The Somy switcher you posted a pic of does component switching? It looks like it only has composite switching. Do you know where I might could find one of these and the price. I did check out that JVC one, but that is too much money!
 

Ryan_C

Second Unit
Joined
Aug 9, 2000
Messages
369
Bert,

I might end up doing that, but I don't really want to have to scoot out a 200 lb. TV every time I want to switch consoles!
 

Camp

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Dec 3, 1999
Messages
2,301
I own both the Sony (pictured above) and the JVC switchbox (liked above). The Sony is intended for composite video but if you use the L&R audio you can use it as a component switchbox. It works fine for non-HD material.

The JVC is just a lot nicer looking. It fits well in my A/V rack and the inputs are spaced much better. I see no difference in performance between the two units.

The Sony unit can be purchased for about $20 at Best Buy, Target, Radio Shack (under another name). I got my JVC box from Etronix...follow the link in Leo's post.
 

Ryan_C

Second Unit
Joined
Aug 9, 2000
Messages
369
Everyone,

Thanks for the advice, I will probably pick up the Radio Shack one or the Sony when my Gamecube shows up. I was just worried they would degrade the picture signal somehow. Thanks again!
 

DeanWalsh

Second Unit
Joined
Apr 17, 1999
Messages
390
If you didn't want to spend the money on a switcher a cheaper alternative is to get a 3 'Y' cables so you can hook 2 leads into each component input. As long as only 1 is switched on at a time (which I imagine would be the case)you don't even have to worry about pressing buttons to switch consoles. I use this method and it works fine.
 

MarkDavidson

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Jul 2, 2001
Messages
96
Does anyone know about bandwidth limitations by using a simple composite switch vs. using something touted as a true component video switcher? md
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
348,457
Messages
4,846,157
Members
142,321
Latest member
TurtlePen
Recent bookmarks
0
Top