What's new

Help for a Newbie (1 Viewer)

Carew

Auditioning
Real Name
Rick
Hi All... I'm new to the HTF and have spent a few days trying to absorb as much information as possible. Seems to be a lot of great people here with plenty of knowledge and experience.

I just bought a new HDTV (Panasonic 58" 1080p plasma) for a 2-story great room. I want to add a decent sound system to this but realize the room isn't ideal for HT. I started at the local HT specialty shops but quickly found that they didn't want to help if I wasn't buying their services and products. I started looking at several components but wanted some "reality-check" advice before I pulled the trigger. So, here is what I am faced with:

1. Room is 25 X 20 and two stories tall. 25 feet from "media wall" to back wall.
2. Looking towards the TV, there is a fireplace (diagonal) in the left corner and the doorway to the master bedroom in the right corner.
3. The left wall is basically a 2-story window.
4. The rear wall has an open doorway on the left from the kitchen and an open doorway or the right from the basement/garage area. The wall area between these doorways is 10 feet (doorways are in each of the corners of back wall).
5. The right wall has a second floor balcony and a large opening to the dining room and a large opening to the foyer.
6. The media wall (usable area) is about 10 feet wide with the TV wall mounted in the center.

Here is what I assume (comments please):

1. I have to go with a 5.x setup as I don't have a logical place to put side speakers.
2. I can put center, front right and left on the "media wall" and the rears on the back wall.
3. Anything else I should assume???

Components I've looked at but have not bought:

1. AV Receiver: Denon AVR-2807
2. SVS PB12+2 or maybe the SVS PB-13 Ultra
3. Front, center and rear speakers - Honestly, I'm overwhelmed here and have no idea. Looking for suggestions...