Help! Dog ate remote

Jill

Auditioning
Joined
Jun 2, 2004
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Hi there..I am brand new to your forum and hoping someone here can help me. My son's dog ate the remote for his Akai DHT 300 Receiever, and he has asked me to help him find a replacement remote.

Now, being the good mom that I am, I want to inpress my son with my vast internet experience by finding him a replacement...only problem is, I have been Gogling it for 2 days now and finding nothing.

Can anyone here, PLEASE point me to a website that would have a replacement remote that I can purchase??

Think of it as a late Mother's Day present?? ;-)

tia,
Jill
 

Chu Gai

Lead Actor
Joined
Jun 29, 2001
Messages
7,270
Reaction score
1
Points
0
Short of getting a direct replacement, you can look into learning remotes. You can spend a little, or you can spend a lot. RadioShack also has learning remotes and that may get you by. Other than that, a good site is remotecentral and FWIW they've got a forum there too.
 

Jill

Auditioning
Joined
Jun 2, 2004
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
thanks..I am heading off to those sites now..... is a **learning remote** a type of remote that can be programed to **learn** the system you want it to work with?

-Jill
 

Jay Foster

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
May 16, 2003
Messages
160
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Jill,

Yes, a learning remote can "learn" your system. It depends on how much you want to spend. remotecentral has a customer questionnaire that will select a remote for you based on the features you want. You may want to look at the Kameleon 8. Sells for $99 although you can find it for less. Got a 99 rating in DVD Etc. magazine.
 

Ted Lee

Lead Actor
Joined
May 8, 2001
Messages
8,390
Reaction score
0
Points
0
jill -

first i congratulate you on doing this. that's very cool of you!


just keep in mind that akai receivers aren't very common and you may run into some difficulty finding a learning remote that has the necessary built-in codes.

(the way learning remotes generally work is that you enter a 3-digit predetermined code. the remote knows that code belongs to an akai receiver. so now the remote "acts like" an akai receiver remote.)

i even checked the jp1 forum (don't ask...
) and couldn't find a file for that receiver.

again, this may (or may not) be an issue for you. just something to be aware of.

good luck!
 

Jill

Auditioning
Joined
Jun 2, 2004
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
thanks for the information Ted. I think the learning remotes at Radio Shack are going to be the best way to go.

thanks again to both of you! :b

-Jill
 

MikeSRC

Second Unit
Joined
Jul 19, 2002
Messages
369
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Regarding learning, is the dog-eaten remote still functional? If it isn't, you're going to have to find a remote that has the Akai commands in its database since you won't have anything to learn from. As Ted mentioned, that may be difficult to find, but the One for All (and certain Radio Shack remotes) would be your best bet.

If you just want a replacent for the original remote, try replacementremotes.com or 123remotes.com.
 

Jill

Auditioning
Joined
Jun 2, 2004
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Is the remote still functional??. well...the dog is a pitbull so odds are, no, it isn't.


thanks for your suggestions..I just went to 123remotes and put in a request. Never thought this would be so difficult..

Hopefully, if we cannot find the replacement, an all in one will do the trick.

thanks again!!

-Jill
 

DanielKennedy

Auditioning
Joined
May 31, 2004
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Hi Jill,

Radio shack's 8-in-1 (part number 15-2116) has a setup code for Akai receivers (0115). It cost about $30.00 and is a snap to use. It has a small display screen and good back lighting plus it is kinda cool looking. Give it a try, you can always take it back!

Seeya,
Daniel.
 

Bill Will

Screenwriter
Joined
Dec 26, 2001
Messages
1,282
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Try www.replacementremotes.com If they don't have one they also repair remotes or maybe they can steer you in the right direction for a replacement. You din't say how bad the remote was damaged but if it's not working your not going to be able to program a "Learning" remote because it learns from the original remote. As above, you might want to try one of the Radio Shack remotes to see how close it comes to controling the features that the original remote had & they will always take it back if your not happy with it.
 

Mark All

Second Unit
Joined
Dec 10, 2002
Messages
256
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Go to the manufacturer's site in this case. Akai dropped out of the U.S. more than 15 years ago, but seems to be making a minor comeback now in the home theater business. Their spare parts products may be hard to find because they are still establishing their distribution chain again. If the DHT350 system was purchased since 2001, Akai USA should be able to provide a remote. If you get lucky, they might do it for free to build customer loyalty, but I wouldn't bet on it. Their Web site link:

Akai Customer Service
 

Jill

Auditioning
Joined
Jun 2, 2004
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
thanks everyone.. I am following up w/ your suggestions. Just emailed cust care at Akai and also will phone them tomorrow.

thanks again for all the help!! ;-)

-Jill
 

Pus Suchre

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Feb 27, 2004
Messages
124
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Can you imaging "passing" a remote? Ouch- poor dog....
 

Brian Schucher

Supporting Actor
Joined
Nov 22, 2000
Messages
700
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Could be worse... your dog could have chewed the hell out of a MX700 like mine did.. Oh yeah, scratched up a MX500 before that. No longer a puppy and doesnt chew anymore thank god.
 

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
343,707
Messages
4,687,596
Members
141,010
Latest member
GlobalImages