HELP! Convergence on Sony KP46WS500

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JayQuinty, Jan 7, 2003.

1. JayQuinty

JayQuinty Extra

Total novice here in need a little assistance. I've had my KP46WT500 for about 2 weeks now. Since then, I've let the TV run for over 100 hours so it should be "warmed up", so to speak.

I have it hooked up to a Hughes E86 HD DirectTV receiver via high quality component video cables. Right out of the box, this TV set really impressed me. The HD picture is drop dead gorgeous; DVD's are very nice, and the SD stuff is, well, fuzzy or blurry would be the best description.

I bought the Avia and ran thru the process of setting Color, Tint, Black & White, and Contrast. It's interesting to note that I really had a difficult time achieving results much different from the factory settings. Most of my settings are at, or slightly above/below the middle mark. (Sony does not give a numerical reference for these settings. Just little bars that you move back and forth.)

Anyway, I need help in checking and/or manually setting the convergence. The TV has an auto-focus button that supposedly sets the convergence for you, but I'm looking to see if I can improve on this. Can anyone tell me how to manually converge this TV? Also, I recently read on this forum that many of you don't use the S-video or component video cables for your SD feeds because the picture is apparently worse thru these cables than thru coax or composite. So when I get home I'm going to try using the running the SD stuff thru either coax or composite and see if I get better results.

And finally, if any of you other Sony owners want to chime in with some tips/hints on how to improve this set, I would appreciate it.

Thanks in advance,
    Jay

2. Rain

Rain Producer

If you are not satisfied with the "Flash Focus" convergence, you should probably consider calling for a service tech.

I was told that manual convergence adjustment is covered under warranty.