Help buying wide screen TV

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by James_C, Nov 26, 2001.

1. James_C

James_C Agent

I am fairly new at HT. I have slowly been upgrading my system for the past year. I am starting to look at wide screen tv's. Unfortunatly, I don't know much about them. I have seen a thread here about the Panasonic 47" wide screen. Is that a good model? What are some good names to look for in a Wide screen?? I'm looking to spend around $2000 or so. Thank you!!!

2. Craig

Craig Second Unit

Other makes I'd consider are the Toshiba 42"($2000 or less) and 50" (under $2500) widescreens and the Mitsubishi 46" ($2000 or less). The Panasonic seems to be a good set, at least from most of the posts here.

If you're using the set mainly for DVDs and HDTV then you'll get a very good picture on most HDTV sets. Picture varies with cable and satellite and is very much dependent on quality of input signal.

I've had a 56" Toshiba widescreen for two years and couldn't be happier, you won't regret your purchase.

3. Carlo Medina

Carlo Medina Executive Producer

Please do think about ISF calibration. A good ISF'er will make a world of difference to any of these sets, but particularly the Panasonic (my TV). After a good ISF calibration you will be hard pressed to tell the difference picture-wise between these sets. The only differences will be bells & whistles (menu options, # of inputs, etc.) and that will vary from manufacturer to manufacturer.

4. James_C

James_C Agent

ISF calibration?? Excuse my ignorance!! What is that? Also, what is "burn in"?? And is it a problem with wide screen??

5. JohnHN

JohnHN Stunt Coordinator