What's new

Help buying a camcorder.... (1 Viewer)

Mike OConnell

Second Unit
Real Name
Mike
I am in the market for a camcorder and am not sure what to buy.

The main use will be for filming my son during sporting events and school events. I want to be able to make VHS tapes from the camcorder to my VCR to send to Grandma and Grandpa's (who only own standard VHS VCR's).

Should I go digital? MiniDV, Digital8?

Should I go 8mm? 8mm, Hi8?

I would also like a digital camera for still photos to e-mail, but it seems that you have to spend alot of cash to get a digital camcorder with resolution high enough for good digital photos. It would seem cheaper to buy a lower cost camcorder (8mm, Hi8) and a decent digital camera (2-3 MB) and you would come out ahead...

Any suggestions would be helpful. I am new at camcorders, as I have never owned one.

Oh yeah - budget.... I would like to stay under $600, if feasible for one or both, but am prone to stretching my budget a bit if necessary.

Thanks,
Mike

DanaA

Screenwriter
I just purchased the Sony TRV - 27 and am too new to it to pretend to be knowledgeable, but I don't feel MiniDVs transfer to standard VHS, although the Sony allows for the transfer of analog sources to digital.
A good place to research the issue, as well as gain access to a multitude of reviews is:
www.ecoustics.com/Home/Home_Video/Camcorders/
Also, and perhaps just as important, is getting the best deal you can get. Your $600 will go a lot further then. The cheapest price I could get at places like Circuit City, Good Guys, and Best Buys was $999. Nonetheless, Sears was more than willing to match ANY internet price I could find.
Their only qualification is that the shipping price be included and that you bring a print out of the cost including shipping as well as stating that it is a new-in-box unit. The price I received was $772, and I might have even reduced it more if I spent more time at it. A good source for internet sellers is: