help....avia

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Steven Hallett, May 20, 2002.

  1. Steven Hallett

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i am trying to calibrate with avia,,VERY FRUSTRATING,, how do you set speaker levels when the disk sends the tones to each speaker i cannot adjust them because i have to put the speaker calibration on the tv but then the onkyo 898 sends its own pink noise to each speaker,what am i doing wrong please HELP.:b
     
  2. Marc Rochkind

    Marc Rochkind Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2000
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have heard of this problem. Check the instructions for the remote... there may be a way to set the levels without using the on-screen menus.
     
  3. Damon M

    Damon M Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When I calibrated with Video Essentials, I got a reading on the SPL meter, paused VE, switched over to the receiver's internal test tone and adjusted the decibels up or down without paying attention to the internal pink noise, then switched back to VE and listed to the tone again until it matched the 75dB. Lots of switching back and forth, but with practice it works.
     
  4. Patrick Bennett

    Patrick Bennett Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 1998
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You should be able to adjust the trim on each of your speakers withour having to enter the receiver's own test tones.

    I can do it on my (earlier model) Onkyo receiver.
     
  5. Vince Maskeeper

    Vince Maskeeper Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 1999
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Steven,

    Both solutions I have discovered have been mentioned by other posters:

    1) Most receivers like yours have some odd secondary way of accessing the speaker levels, without the internal tones. My Denon also forces the tones, but only when using onscreen menus. It has a "backdoor" of sorts to access these controls without the oncreen menu (using the settings diplay on the front panel).

    2) Before I found the Denon "backdoor" access to the speaker levels, I did as Damon suggested- placing the meter on a tripod, playing through the tones and writing down the needed adjustments. I went into the onscreen menus, made the adjustments, and then came back to the AVIA tones again. Taking note, switching, taking note, switching- until I get them happening.

    -Vince
     
  6. Jorge M

    Jorge M Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here's the "backdoor" (nice term there Vince[​IMG]) way to do it with the Onkyos (at least my 696):
    • Press the "CH SEL/TOP MENU" button. The setting for your left channel shows up.
    • Use the arrows to adjust the level for that channel.
    • To cycle through all the channels, press CH SEL repeatedly.
    Hope this works on your 898 too!
     
  7. Steven Hallett

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks guys for the info, i will try this over the coming weekend and let you know how i make out
     
  8. Ed O

    Ed O Agent

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2000
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Patrick:

    What model Onkyo do you have? How do you get to the "backdoor". With my 656 I can only get the internal test tones when choosing speakers and adjusting levels. Very frustrating when trying to use AVIA.

    Jorge, do you get the internal test tones or are you able to get disc-produced tones using your method on the 696?

    Ed
     
  9. Steven Hallett

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2002
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ed i used jorge's (backdoor) method last night it worked great,set up all speakers but still confused about some of the tests for the sub. I set the volume on my onkyo898 to 82 at witch the LCD then reads ref.then i set all speakers to 0 set up spl and followed the instructions on avia,made the adjustments so all speakers read 85dbl,then all-so set the subs to 85dbl.where i got confused was the tests where you would get a test to the front left for example and then the test signal would be sent to the sub and they both should read 85 dbl but they did-not .i had to make small adjustments again.but then when i run the test for the speakers again buy them selves the spl reading would not be 85dbl.am i doing this the right way. equipment-is onkyo 898,all polk speaker's rt1000i,center cs400i,surrounds fx500i,rears fx30i,subs psw-650 and 12 inch mirage both hooked up to the lfe with rca y split ter,i have all speakers set to small including the rt1000i witch have powered subs in them ,does this seem right
     

Share This Page