What's new

help a rookie built a PC - please! (1 Viewer)

Eric_L

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Eric
OK, I'm down to the last few steps. Before I press the 'checkout' button I thought I'd place my shopping cart here in case I'm making a complete NOOB error.

I've already bought the case, power supply (400w) fans and Vid Card (radeon aiw 9800 pro)

Here's the rest:

ASUS P4P800 Deluxe mobo $145.99
Intel Pentium 2.4 w' hyperthreading : $177.00 retail version
Pioneer DVR-105BK-OEM DVDr $222.00
Asus SPDIF interface $14.99
2 18" Vantec Round ATA 66/100/133 cable 3-connector $7.49 ea
Seagate 120GB SATA Hardrive Barracuda: $137
GEIL 2X512MB PC-3200 400MHZ Dual DDR RAM $215
TOTAL $926.96

A few questions - One; I've looked EVERWHERE for a DVD recorder Slot Drive. Do they exist?
Two; RAID. Still not sure what that can do for me. You say it has something to do with using two hard drives. Would it be worthwhile to get two smaller drives rather than the 120? I'm more interested in speed than space. I haven't even maxed out my old 20gig yet! Is RAID that much faster? Is it difficult to use? Will it WOW my friends and make the hot chicks want me?

Also, will I need to buy thermal paste/grease? I think I have all the other tools I'll need.

I am eager and terrified. Kinda like the feeling when standing in line for a really mean rollercoaster.

I just hope I don't puke.

Thanks for all of your advice

Duane R

Second Unit
As far as the Hard drive issue goes, the ultimate speed would be a pair of WD Raptors Serial ATA (36GB) in a RAID 0 setup. A few people over at the AsusBoards forums are running these. They say they can install XP Pro in 8-10 minutes flat!

John_Berger

Senior HTF Member
in case I'm making a complete NOOB error