What's new

Help a Newbie w/ 1996 Mirage! (1 Viewer)

Garrett Lundy

Senior HTF Member
I'm a car-audio newbie with a '96 mitsubishi mirage (s coupe), help me get a good audio system!

Speakers: I don't know what size replacement speakers to get. The manual doesn't say, and the crutchfield online 'what fits my car' guide changes it opinion on what size the speakers are ! (one day its 5&1/4, tomorrow its 6&1/2).

Subwoofer: I have a truck, what kind of enclosure is best? (I'm looking for a nice flat Freq. response 20-20,000, no need to cause an earthquake).

Amps: who is a good manufacturer of amps? are the cheap ones as good as the expensive ones in a non-competition vehicle?

Angelo_Petralba

Second Unit
Real Name
Angelo
For speakers (Coax or Component sets) I found CDTs to be a good bargain but EXCELLENT sounding sets for $149.00 for the COMP CL61 Set

For subs and amps:
I would go with a single sub set-up in a small sealed enclosure with about 400-500 watts.

Amp would be a single 4 channel amp with the front channels powering the CDT's and the Back channels powering the subwoofer bridged.

Sub: Elemental Designs E12K Dual 2 ohms for $135.00 + shipping

Amp: Avionixx 600.4 Class AB amp 110 watts X 4 @ 4 ohms RMS $280.00 + shipping

Im assuming you already have a head unit or you can pick up a nice HU from www.ikesound.com for cheap, like the Blau Casablanca for $95.00 + shipping.

Since I don't know your budget and your Installation skills, I just put together a simple/in-expensive COMPLETE set-up with TOP NOTCH gear.

Breakdown:

HU: $95.00 (Blau Casablanca) + shipping
AMP: $280.00 (Avionixx AXA 600.4) + shipping
SUB: $135.00 (Elemental Designs E12K.22 Dual 2 ohms or single 4 Ohms) + shippinf
COMP SET: $150.00 (CDT Classic CL61) Free shipping from www.thezeb.com

TOTAL : $660.00 without shipping so roughly ~$700-$725.00 with shipping: Add another $80.00 for the wiring and SUB Box...$800.00 TOTAL!!!!