Help a newbie upgrade!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by carlw, Mar 12, 2003.

1. carlw

carlw Auditioning

HI all! [​IMG] Just found this site a few days ago and I am already learning a lot!

This is my current system:
    32" Philips TV
    Pioneer VSX-811s Receiver
    Pioneer DV-333 DVD Player
    Pioneer CD player
    Cerwin Vega VS-120's (fronts)
    Sony SSCR305's (center & surrounds)
    No sub

My weak link is obviously in the speaker area, but where do I start? And what do I upgade to?

Specifics are: Probably about 50/50 music/movies, 15 X 19 room (with vaulted ceiling, if that makes a difference).

2. ColinM

ColinM Cinematographer

SUB = the first thing you should buy.

Do it yourselfer?

3. carlw

carlw Auditioning

Yeah I have been doing everything myself, learning as I go. Though I am pretty new to all this, so I am sure I have much to learn.

I know a sub seems logical, but I don't know how much more bass I really need. Would it add much considering the size of my mains? The Vega's can really pound.

Any other ideas or suggestions?

Thanks to all for your help!

4. ColinM

ColinM Cinematographer

I meant are you a woodworker...

As in do-it yourself with a driver / amp / piece of wood. You can get twice the performance of most commercial designs that way.

Do the CV's ever make your pants shake? Wiggle the couch? Vibrate the floorboards to the point where you might be doing some damage?

That's the subwoofage common around these parts. Cheap and easy, and you can get the boxes pre-built. Just assemble the kit and off you go.

What's your budget?

If not the sub, get a matching set of speakers all the way around, or a bigger / better TV. Budget plays big here - JBL's NSP set for cheap or a million others for more $$$...

5. Ted Lee

Ted Lee Lead Actor

without a doubt, the first thing you need to get are some new speakers.