What's new

Help a kid on a budget? (1 Viewer)

Joe Greca

Stunt Coordinator
Hey, you guys have been really helpful, so of course I have another question. I recently got a Trinitron Wega, 32" and I'm really enjoying it. For sound, I'm using this. http://shop.store.yahoo.com/buynovel...ns299watw.html with the addition of a JBL PB10. The center is pretty weak, but there isn't much else I can do. I'm a full time student so I really can't afford to buy a real reciever plus 5 speakers! Anyway, my question is this... For around $500, is it possible to get a DD/DTS receiver and 5 speakers (I'll hold on to this sub, its pretty good) that will make a real improvement over this Aiwa crap? My bedroom is like 12x20, so I don't need a whole lot of power, but I'm really starting to envy you people with your B&Ws and Martin Logans and what not... Any suggestions?
[Edited last by Joe Greca on September 02, 2001 at 01:43 AM]

NickSo

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Nick So
I highly recommend the kenwood HTiB...
IMHO kenwoods have great bang-for-the-buck, although the speakers i demoed in last years 503 HTiB seemed too harsh and bright, the reciever and the sub in the package is great... But you can live with the speakers, its not that horrible...
I have a kenwood VR-407, with DD/DTS, 100W/CH, 5 Svideo inputs, 4 digital inputs, and i got it for $243 about half a year ago... IMHO its a great deal for the stuff it provides...
The new Kenwoods look even MORE promising... With DPL2, and all the extras, its a great package...
see my HT with the kenwood, from a fellow kid (15 year old): http://www.multimania.com/sonick182/ht/index.html
[Edited last by NickSo on September 02, 2001 at 12:22 AM]
[Edited last by NickSo on September 02, 2001 at 12:43 AM]

Joe Greca

Stunt Coordinator