What's new

Hello, newbie here (1 Viewer)

SoGaRaider

Auditioning
Real Name
Michael Usic
Not to get into to much detail but anywhoo. I have a pioneer elite sc-91 and just ran the mcaac setup and now my subwoofer won't play. Any suggestions. Tried resetting and running mcaac again same problem.

DaveF

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Dave
Check the setting that you didn't configure for "Large" speakers which could turn off the subwoofer. As a rule you want "Small" speakers to have subwoofers used.

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
If everything is set right there, try turning up the sub level in the receiver’s menu. Possibly the signal is too weak to turn on the sub.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

SoGaRaider

Auditioning
Real Name
Michael Usic
Thanks. I had a pretty decent surround system 20 years ago but wife, kids, work ya know. Just now getting back into it and everything is much higher speed and complicated now, gonna have to figure it out
If everything is set right there, try turning up the sub level in the receiver’s menu. Possibly the signal is too weak to turn on the sub.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt
ec

JohnRice

Bounded In a Nutshell
Premium
Reviewer
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt
An FYI, if you do that and it solves the problem, then you need to turn down the volume on the sub itself to compensate for the input volume being turned up. Also, make certain all the speakers in the receiver speaker setup are set to "Small". Those auto calibrators like to do some things wrong with the sub setup. BTW, did sound come from the sub when you ran the mcacc?

Just my $0.02, but I don't like auto calibration. It's nice when you have no idea how to set it up, but in the end I prefer shaping the sound myself.

SoGaRaider

Auditioning
Real Name
Michael Usic