What's new

Health Insurance (1 Viewer)

ikiru

Stunt Coordinator
I am just wondering if anyone can recommend a good health insurance provider/plan for me. I am a contractor and I have to pay for my own. I dont have much experience in the matter and I would appreciate some good advice.
My mom mentioned www.unicare.com and their rates seem very reasonable.
I am male, going on 27, I dont smoke, and I might consider getting my wife on it as well (she is a teacher and her health insurance kinda sucks).
Thanks in advance!
-ikiru

Chris Shelly

Second Unit
Hello,
Try going to www.ehealthinsurance.com. They are really good and helpfull and have lots of plans to choose from.
I got laid off last September and I had some of the best insurance from my former employer. I got a new job making more $$ but the medical they offered was really bad so I decided to go on my own. ehealthinsurance is who I used.
Chris

Dave Morton

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Dave
I am also a contractor and I go through Blue Cross/Blue Shield. They may be a little more than some of the other ones, but they cover everything. One issue with us was that because my wife had a c-section with our son, we needed a provider that would cover the costs of our next child, due in june. It really sucked because they looked at the c-section as a pre-existing condition. Insurance in general suck, but you have to have it. I agree to go with the cheapest but try to keep any type of extended circumstances in mind, if you have any.

Deane Johnson

Supporting Actor
With any policy, just be careful and read all the fine print about what is covered and what isn't. Policies are all different and you want to make sure you know what you're getting.

Things to watch out for:

Limits on a specific desease within the policy. I once saw a policy that had severe limits, like $375 for a masectomy (sp?).