What's new

Hdtv (1 Viewer)

MikeLA

Auditioning
I am fairly new to the HT world and have been learning a lot from the fourm. I have a receiver that I am planning on using for a HT. But, how do I know if it will work for HDTV if I want it later? I haven't done anything with HDTV and I have no idea how to connect it or what cables I would need. The TV I have is HDTV "ready". It has component video inputs I was going to use, but no HDMI or DVI? The receiver also does not have HDMI or DVI, but it does have component inputs and monitor outputs I was going to use. But, will this set-up allow me to use HDTV in the future if I want? What other equipment do I need? My current SAT is a DVR, but may get a HDTV soon. Can I only get HDTV if I have HDMI outputs and inputs on my receiver and TV? I am very confused about all the specs and info about HDTV, so hopefully someone here can help me out. Thanks for your time!!

Mike

RickRO

Stunt Coordinator
Mike great ferry you have there in Manitowoc have sailed across Lake Michigan several times on the Badger lots of fun.

Now to your questions. I am new to this stuff too so I'm far from a "professional" TV guru however several questions need to be answered. What is the make and model of your TV, and your receiver?

HDTV ready means that it can display HDTV signals, but the TV does not have an internal tuner to decode the HDTV signals. You will need a OTA (over the air) or a HDTV satellite receiver to decode the HD signals. Some TV's will allow HD input over component 720p or 1080i and display the HD signal. What you gain with HDMI is a digital transfer of data with component it is an analog signal that will be converted to digital at the TV.

There are some satellite receivers and OTA receivers, and some DVD players that will output a 720p or 1080i signal over analog component cables.