HDTV Sound Levels

Discussion in 'TV Shows' started by Mark_B, Feb 8, 2006.

1. Mark_B

Mark_B Second Unit

Mark
    After reading the Super Bowl thread I thought I would ask how folks handle the HDTV sound levels. I'm a HDTV noob and just don't understand the difference in volume that occurs, especially between the broadcast show and commercials. You'll be watching a show and you adjust the volume to a comfortable level and then BAM, a commercial blows you out of your seat. This sometimes happens even during a show. A good example is King of Queens. The show starts and everything is fine. They cut to the opening theme and it blows you away. It continues thruout the show everytime they play the scene transition music. I have similiar problems with Yes Dear. The difference between the show and commercials is the worst. I have taken to just muting during commercials, but it is a pain. I thought there was some rule against this. I have no problem with analog, just the digital broadcast. All my HDTV is OTA.

One other question, why aren't the reality shows shown in HD. Survivor and Amazing Race would be awesome in HD and 5.1 sound.

2. mylan

mylan Screenwriter

I have the same problem with every show I watch in HD. Its the same old thing since commercials began airing, make them loud and you'll notice. Now we just get it loud AND in 5.1.
    I thought Survivor was supposed to be in HD this season too but it is still in SD on my HDTV. I would imagine getting HD cameras and equipment into remote locations would be the problem, heck ABC was worried about inclimate weather and the distance cables would be ran during the supebowl.

3. Charlie Campisi

Charlie Campisi Screenwriter

My workaround is to watch everything on tivo and skip the commercials. No help I know.

Re reality shows in HD, CBS can't even manage to do more than 3 nfl games a week in HD. I don't expect they'd get their act together for a remote island location. Too many cameras.

4. TravisR