What's new

HDTV purchase situation (1 Viewer)

Andy Yeater

Auditioning
I am new to big screen TV’s and HDTV ready as well. I have been doing research on these forum’s and at Consumer Reports, stores, etc.….but still would like your input.

I am going to purchase an HDTV ready rear projection set when/if I settle on the following issues.

My viewing style: I will probably use the set 70% of the time on 4:3 aspect (normal TV, Playstation 2, etc) All the DVD’s I buy I get Widescreen. Some PS2 games also have a “widescreen” mode of play. The HDTV broadcast signal is not important at all to me. Few years down the road when more of it is broadcast and more easily accessible, then I will buy a set top converter and get that….but that is probably several years off for me. Main use will be for Digital Cable, DVD’s and PS2, (I understand still not true HDTV quality).

Based on the above, I have been looking at 2 models. Pioneer SD533HD5 53” Widescreen and the Sony KP51HW40 51” Widescreen. The price difference between the two is not an issue. I have couple other issues:

1. I had a salesperson tell me to be careful of screen “burn in” if I watch too much TV in the normal or 4:3 aspect ratio (in my case probably 70% of usage). This alarms me and wanted some feedback from people who have experience with this. I am also not a big fan of “stretching” the pic to widescreen mode to avoid this. But really want the widescreen for when I do watch the DVD’s and future programming in widescreen. I understand I can get the calibration DVD’s and set contrast etc….is this really going to work and not be a problem. I mean I won’t have the set on for 8 hours at a time. Is there a setting where you can "stretch" the 4:3 signal so it doesn't look too "stretched"?