HDTV connection question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by brianacook, May 6, 2002.

  1. brianacook

    brianacook Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 1999
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are the "colorstream/conponent" inputs the only way to connect and external HD decoder (Scientific Atlanta 3100HD) box to an HD-ready (Toshiba 57H81) set?

    Brian
     
  2. Michael Reuben

    Michael Reuben Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 1998
    Messages:
    21,763
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AFAIK, that's the only form of HD connection that set supports. (Technically, it's not a "colorstream" connection, since Toshiba reserves that name for its 480i/480p inputs. But it's the same sort of three-wire connection.)
    I'm moving this to Audio/Video Sources.
    M.
     
  3. brianacook

    brianacook Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 1999
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just to clarify, the reason I am asking this is that my Dad just got a Toshiba 57H81 and his cable provider just began providing HD channels. He called them today to order it and they are bringing the box on Thursday. They didn't say anything to him about having to get his own caables, so should I assume they will provide the component cables?

    Brian
     
  4. Marc Rochkind

    Marc Rochkind Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2000
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would not assume they would provide the cables. I wouldn't even assume the box has component output (as silly as it sounds to have an HD box without), judging by the weird stories I keep hearing about how cable companies operate. Easy enough, I guess, to wait and see. In a pinch until you can buy a component cable, you could use 3 ordinary video (yellow) phono cables.
     
  5. Allan Jayne

    Allan Jayne Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    2,404
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    In order to deliver HD broadcasts in HD, the box has to have component (or RGB or Firewire or DVI) connections. HDTV video coming out of an S-video or composite or channel 3-4 RF jack has been downrezzed to 480i.
    Also the scan rate must match. If the HDTV output from the box is 1080i, the "colorstream" input on the TV must have an automatic or manual selection for 1080i.
    Video hints:
    http://members.aol.com/ajaynejr/video.htm
     

Share This Page