HDTV answers please...

Discussion in 'TV Shows' started by BillMA, Oct 18, 2003.

1. BillMA

BillMA Auditioning

I am new to HDTV. I just purchased the Hitachi 51S500, and also hooked in to HDTV with Comcast's Motorola converter box. Can someone please tell me why some of my HD channels look great, exactly what I expected, and some of the channels that are listed as HD look terrible(or at least much worse than the good channels)???
    For instance, the PBS channel is FANTASTIC, while my HD network channels are average at best. The HBO HD is ok, but still doesn't compare with my PBS or a channel I have called INHD. How come there is such a major difference?

Thanks in advance for any help you can offer,
    Bill

2. Mike Boniferro

Mike Boniferro Second Unit

The most likely possibility is that not all channels you are watching are true HD. Most channels (PBS is the exception) don't broadcast HD 24/7 but rather for special events and primetime programming.
    For me,anything with black bars at the sides of the screen is just an upconverted SD signal, but anything that is broadcast in 16x9 is HD.
    Also, I've noticed that some channels don't look that great for some reason... ABC seems to not look as good as any of the other HD channels, but still WAY better than SD.
    Also HD has a really wide bandwidth, and I got rid of many of the problems I was having at first by tossing the cables that came in the box [​IMG]

3. Percell

Percell Extra

I hear you loud and clear.....