What's new

Hdmi (1 Viewer)

Brad Wood

Stunt Coordinator
Well, wifey has finally given the green light for basement HT. All I had to do was agree to do all the laundry and wash all the dishes for six months, but that's another thread altogther.

Anyway, I'm trying to hit it fast before she changes her mind and I'm furiously designing a lighting scheme, paint colors, AC layout, acoustic treatment etc. I'm either going with the AE700 or the Z3 for my projector and I'm curious on anyone's experiences with HDMI. I'm an AV designer and I work primarily in schools and boardrooms so I usually stay away from DVI. Most of my clients don't need it and it's usually more headache than it's worth. I'm wondering if HDMI is worth it to run right now. How far can I run HDMI? Is it a different protocol than DVI or basically DVI connectorized differently? Will I really see that much of an improvement over analog component video?

I'd just like to hear from anyone who has run it and their general feelings about it. I may just put a 3" PVC tube in between my rack and the ceiling projector location so I can pull it later, but if it's worth it, I'll run it now. Thanks!

David_Rivshin

Second Unit
I haven't personally used an HDMI connection yet, but I feel pretty safe in saying that you definitely want to use the HDMI input rather than component. Since the AE700 and Z3 are both LCD projectors, any input must be converted to a 720p digital frame before it's displayed. IOW, if you were to use any analog input the projector would need to digitize it first. So you end up with the DVD player converting the digital image to an analog signal, and the projector doing the reverse, and resulting in a generational loss.